I coulda been this, if only….I woulda have done that, if only…. I shoulda have done that, if only…

I believe these thoughts are the worst form of mental self abuse. This is regret-pattern thinking. This kind of belief system is what holds you prisoner to the past of what ‘might have been’.  It keeps you in a fantasy of sorts that if there was some way of going back in time you could change what you think went wrong and better your life now.

Now I am not a psychologist, therapist, guru or shaman. Hell I’m not even good at changing my mind, but I’ve learned enough to know that there is only now. The old saying goes ” The past is gone; the future is unknown — but the present is real, and your opportunities are now.”

I know how hard it is to let go of the painful regret of bad decisions that you believe (and I stress that only you believe) have decided your fate in life. The fact is that anyone can change their life at anytime but that road is definitely a hard one if you bring the heavy baggage of regret with you.

Keep the past in the past. Plan for the future, but act now.

As any legitimate spiritualist will tell you, keep yourself in the present.

