The phrase  “Paralysis by Analysis” may sum up why I haven’t succeeded in a lot of things in my life.  Thats tough to put into writing and going to be even harder to read when I have to edit this post later, but the truth is the truth.

I have been the master of  why I can’t do something  rather than the healthier mindset of  why I can.  As I reflect on certain decisions I’ve made in my life I can say without a doubt that I made too many excuses why I couldn’t do something instead of just believing I could. The fear that I might fail would make me talk myself out of doing certain things, which later in my life would lead to regret, and regret is not a good thing to have in your life.

I once read somewhere that a University had polled more than 1000 people over  a period of a year  asking what people feared the most. What came as a shock to the psychologist is that the most common answer to this poll was the fear of failure, even over the fear of death.  The problem is that we fear failure so much that we would rather make excuses then face the scrutiny if we do fail.  Im too old, too tired, too weak, work too much , blah, blah, blah.

“We learn more from our failure than we do our success”, this is an old adage but  it still holds the weight of truth behind it. One prolific example of this is Thomas Edison. It took Thomas Edison two years and many failed attempts before he would final perfect the light bulb. It is has been said that he used over 6,000 fibers to light his bulb. In a famous interview a report asked  “How many times are you going to fail at creating the light bulb?”  Edison replied, “Son, I haven’t failed! I’ve simply discovered another way not to invent the light bulb!”

Like the picture above, stop saying why you can’t and start believing you can. I’m not going to claim that I’m 100% of this mind set all the time, but I’m much better at keeping myself in check when I start making too many excuses. Failure is just the first step to success.

Quick shout out to my friend Matt for facebooking me this picture. Thanks for the idea Matty!!

